Blackened Catfish

This dish was part of a meal that was created for the subreddit, /r/52weeksofcooking, where the theme was “Southern”. I have a few friends from the South and I have been there a couple times so I had a few different options for dishes. The hard part was trying to make something that I have never had before. Then I realised that I have never had blackened catfish even though I have seen it on a bunch of menus. How could I not like this? Catfish and Cajun spices? Sign me up!

The flavour on this was really good but it was a tad bit spicy. You could easily leave out the A** Blood and it will still be delicious.

A** Blood is a hot chili powder that I make with ghost chilis but you can use any sort of hot sauce or powder.

I ended up making my own Italian dressing and I suggest you do the same because of how delicious and easy it is but you could use store bought.

  • Servings: 4
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Summary

  • Cuisine: Cajun
  • Preparation Time: 10 minutes
  • Cooking Time: 30 minutes

Ingredients

1 teaspoon Cayenne Powder
1 teaspoon A** Blood
2 teaspoons Lemon Pepper
2 teaspoons Garlic Powder
1 teaspoon Kosher Salt
2 teaspoons Freshly Ground Black Pepper
2 Tablespoons Butter
1 lb Catfish Fillets
1cup Italian Dressing

Steps

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and lightly grease a baking sheet.
  2. In a small bowl, mix together the Cayenne Powder, A** Blood, Lemon Pepper, Garlic Powder, Kosher Salt, and Black Pepper.
  3. Heat a large cast iron skillet of medium-high heat.
  4. Melt the Butter and brush both sides of the Catfish Fillets.
  5. Rub the spices on both sides of the Catfish.
  6. When the skillet is very hot, fry the Catfish on eat side until slightly blackened (about 1 1/2 – 2 minutes).
  7. Arrange the Catfish in a single layer on the baking sheet and coat with the Italian Dressing.
  8. Bake until easily flaked with a fork (about 15 – 20 minutes).
Leave a Reply

