Spicy BBQ Sauce

This dish was one part of a dish I prepared for the subreddit, /r/52weeksofcooking, where the theme was “Bottled Sauces from Scratch” and my second theme was “Comfort Food”. This is the part of the theme of bottled sauces from scratch obviously.

I have tried to make my own BBQ sauce before and it was always just come out OK but not great. The last time I made it, there was too strong of a flavour of ketchup, the time before that, too much vinegar. This time, I think I finally got it but be warned it is a bit spicy. I decided to play with “Blair’s 2 am Reserve Extract” that I got for a gift a while back. I only used a few drops and this thing packs a punch. You could use any hot sauce or powder for this but I suggest not using a vinegar based product.

  • Servings: 18-oz
  • Time: 80 mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Summary

  • Course: condiments
  • Cooking Technique: Barbecuing
  • Preparation Time: 5 mins
  • Cooking Time: 75 mins

Ingredients

2 Cups Ketchup
1/2 Cup Apple Cider Vinegar
5 Tablespoons Brown Sugar
4 Tablespoons Agave Nectar
1/2 Tablespoon Freshly Ground Black Pepper
1/2 Tablespoon Onion Powder
1/2 Tablespoon Ground Mustard
1 Tablespoon Lemon Juice (about 1/2 a lemon)
1 Tablespoon Worcestershire Sauce
3 Drops Liquid Smoke
3 – 5 Drops Blair’s 2am Reserve Extract
1 Splash of Whiskey

Steps

  1. In a medium saucepan, combine all ingredients.
  2. Bring to a boil over high heat.
  3. When everything starts boiling, reduce the heat to low, and simmer for 1 hour 15 minutes, stirring frequently.
  4. Taste at about the half way mark and adjust heat or any spices as needed

Leave a Reply

