Chicken with Orzo

Since my last dish was more of a lunch thing, actually it was only a lunch thing and I have been eating it all week, I decided that I should probably eat dinner. But I was also feeling too lazy to go shopping for food and decided to try and cook something from what I had in my house already. Man I am glad that I did, this was incredibly easy and yet, still bursting with flavour.

My significant other refers to Orzo as pasta rice and it makes me laugh every time. Now why I had to mention that, I just wanted to.

This did make a little too much pasta for how much chicken was used but I guess I’ll just eat pasta for lunch a couple days this week!

This Basil & Tomato feta cheese is pretty good for a massively produced cheese and I suggest you try it but if you don’t have any, regular feta works as well.

You may need to add some salt at the end depending on your chicken broth. I make a homemade chicken broth that does not use any salt so it needed a bit.

  • Servings: 3-serving
  • Time: 50 mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Summary

  • Passive Time: 5 minutes mins
  • Course: entrée
  • Preparation Time: 10 minutes mins
  • Cooking Time: 35 minutes mins

Ingredients

1 Tablespoon Olive Oil
3 3/4 lbs Chicken Thighs  (bone-in, skin on)
to taste Kosher Salt
to taste Freshly Ground Black Pepper
6 Cloves Garlic
15 oz cans Diced Tomatoes
1/3 Cup Pitted Kalamata Olives
1/2 teaspoon Dried Oregano
2 Cups Chicken Broth
1 1/2 Cups Orzo, uncooked
1/4 Bunch Parsley
1/4 Cup Fresh Basil, sliced
1/4 Cup Tomato & Basil Feta Cheese

Steps

  1. Heat the Olive Oil over medium heat in a deep skillet until hot.
  2. While the skillet is heating up, pat the Chicken Thighs dry with a paper towel, and sprinkle both sides with a bit of Kosher Salt and Pepper.
  3. When the skillet is hot, add the Chicken to the skillet skin side down, and cook on each side until golden brown (about 6 – 7 minutes per side).
  4. While the Chicken is cooking, peel and mince the Garlic.
  5. Transfer the Chicken to a clean plate, remove the excess fat and Olive Oil from the skillet, leaving just enough for the minced Garlic.
  6. Turn the heat to medium-low, add the minced Garlic, and cook until fragrant (about 1 minute).
  7. Add the Diced Tomatoes (with juices), Oregano, and Pepper. Stir and allow to cook while you chop the Kalamata Olives. Add the Olives to the skillet.
  8. Add the Chicken Broth and Orzo to the skillet and stir to combine.
  9. Nestle the Chicken Thighs into the skillet, place a lid on the skillet, increase the heat to medium-high, and bring to a boil.
  10. When the skillet starts to boil, reduce heat to the lowest temperature to keep a gentle simmer (this was just above low for my stove). Let the skillet simmer until some of the liquid has been absorbed, but not all (about 15 – 20 minutes).
  11. Meanwhile, chop the Parsley and slice the Basil.
  12. Remove the skillet from the heat and let rest for 5 minutes.
  13. Fluff the Orzo to bring all the ingredients back together and top with the Parsley, Basil, and Feta Cheese.

Leave a Reply

