Juicy Lucy with Whiskey Grilled Onions

When I woke up today, the weather was abnormally warm so I decided to go for a hike. Whenever I go out in the sun or go hiking, I always get an appetite for a burger even though I am not really a burger fan. Add the fact that I picked up a bunch of ground bison the other day because I have never cooked with it and I was intrigued. This was really good that even a non-burger person like myself would definitely go back for. And incredibly juicy so much that it reminded me of those Carl’s Jr. commercials. I will definitely be looking into making different things with bison after this.

These can very easily be made with beef as well and I am sure they will be just as delicious.

The choice of cheese is definitely up to you.

I used a homemade Barbeque Sauce. This is an ingredient that I used to always buy and not make myself. Do yourself a favour and make it, you will thank me later.

  • Servings: 4-serving
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Summary

  • Cuisine: american
  • Course: entrée
  • Cooking Technique: Barbecuing
  • Preparation Time: 5 minutes mins
  • Cooking Time: 25 minutes mins

Ingredients

Whiskey Grill Onions
1 Tablespoon Canola Oil
1 Onion
1 Tablespoon Whiskey
Juicy Lucys
1 1/2 lbs Ground Bison
1 Tablespoon Worcestershire Sauce
3/4 teaspoon Garlic Salt
1 teaspoon Black Pepper
4 Slices Cheddar Cheese
to taste Barbeque Sauce
4 Slices Swiss Cheese
4 Hamburger Buns
Hamburger Additions
Hamburger Condiments

Steps

  1. Start by making the onions; heat the Canola Oil in a skillet over medium-low heat.
  2. Meanwhile, slice the Onions.
  3. When the skillet is hot, add the sliced Onions, and cook for about 3 minutes, breaking the Onions apart as they cook.
  4. Cook for about 20 minutes. When the Onions start to get a bit dry, add 1 teaspoon Whiskey and alternate with 1 Tablespoon of Water.
  5. Meanwhile, heat up the grill for medium.
  6. As the grill is heating up, combine the Ground Bison, Worcestershire Sauce, Garlic Salt, and Black Pepper. Form into 8 patties.
  7. On 4 of the patties, place the Cheddar Cheese, and then add another patty on top.
  8. Place the patties on the grill, brush on some Barbeque Sauce, and cook the burger patties for about 4 minutes.
  9. Flip the patties, brush on some Barbeque Sauce, add the Swiss Cheese, add the Hamburger Buns to the top rack to toast, and close the lid. Cook for an additional 4 minutes.
  10. When the patties are done cooking, place the patties on the Hamburger Buns, top with Grilled Onions, any other additions (sliced Tomato, lettuce, etc.), and condiments (I usually just use more Barbeque Sauce).

Leave a Reply

