One Pot Brazilian Chicken and Rice

This dish was prepared for the subreddit, /r/52weeksofcooking, where the theme was Brazilian and my second theme was one pot. I have a love and hate relationship with one pot recipes. I love the fact that clean up is super easy but I do not like the fact that it is way to easy to over or under cook a part of dish. Then throw chicken in the mix and I was legitimately worried. A worry that quickly faded as soon as I started to eat this. The rice was cooked perfectly and the chicken was very moist. I could see myself making this again since I usually have most of the ingredients on hand and it was pretty easy. Next time, I think I will add a bit hot spice though.

Also, I had bought Limes and Parsley for garnish for this meal but completely spaced using it after I was done cooking… oops.

I used a homemade chicken broth which does not have a lot of salt so mine needed some salt at the end but if your chicken broth is fairly salty, you might not need it.

  • Servings: 6-serving
  • Time: 45 mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Summary

  • Cuisine: brazilian
  • Course: entrée
  • Preparation Time: 5 minutes mins
  • Cooking Time: 40 minutes mins

Ingredients

3 Tablespoons Canola Oil
1 White Onion
1 Garlic Head
6 Bone-In Chicken Thighs
1 Tablespoon Turmeric
2 Tablespoons Dried Oregano
2 Cups Frozen Corn
2 1/2 Cups Jasmine Rice
3 Cups Chicken Broth
to taste Kosher Salt
to taste Pepper

Steps

  1. In a large pan, heat the Canola Oil over medium-high heat.
  2. While the Oil is heating up, dice the Onion and peel and mince the Garlic. Add the diced Onion and minced Garlic to the hot oil and cook until translucent (about 2 – 3 minutes).
  3. Meanwhile, remove the skin from the Chicken if it has it. Add the Chicken to the pan and brown for 2 minutes on each side.
  4. Stir in the Turmeric and Oregano and cook for 1 more minute.
  5. Stir the Corn and Rice and cook for 1 more minute.
  6. Add the Chicken Broth, increase the heat to high, and bring to a boil.
  7. Once everything is boiling, reduce the heat to low, cover, and cook until all the liquid is absorbed and the rice is soft (10 – 20 minutes).
  8. Taste and add Kosher Salt and Pepper.

Leave a Reply

