Moroccan Lentil Stew

I saw this stew on another website a while back and I had to try it… I did not anticipate non-stew like weather. Oh well, I bought the ingredients so I had to make it. Also, I am very glad I did. This was absolutely bursting with flavour. When I was making it, I was thinking of adding shredded chicken or something similar but it does not need it at all. I can still taste it on my tongue. This is definitely going into my soup/stew arsenal.

This went very well with some naan bread to dip into it. I highly suggest it.

Also, I used A** Blood in this which is a chili powder I make out of ghost chilis and it made it perfectly spicy for me so you can omit a hot powder all together.

I use homemade chicken broth which is not salty at all so I had to add a bit of salt at the end but it will depend on your brand of broth.

  • Servings: 8-serving
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Summary

  • Cuisine: moroccan
  • Course: side dish
  • Preparation Time: 10 minutes mins
  • Cooking Time: 50 minutes mins

Ingredients

2 Tablespoons Olive Oil
1 Yellow Onion
6 Cloves Garlic
4 Stalks Celery
1/2 Tablespoon Ground Cumin
1 teaspoon Turmeric
1 teaspoon Cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon Cayenne Pepper
1/4 teaspoon A** Blood
1 14.5 oz cans Chickpeas
2 14.5 oz cans Diced Tomatoes
3/4 lb Fresh Cauliflower Florets
6 Cups Chicken Broth
1 Bay Leaf
1 1/2 Cups Red Lentils
to taste Salt

Steps

  1. In a large pot, heat the Olive Oil over medium heat.
  2. While the Olive Oil is heating up, dice the Onion and mince the Garlic. Add the diced Onion and minced Garlic to the pot and cook until softened (about 2 – 3 minutes).
  3. While the Onion and Garlic is cooking, slice the Celery. Add the sliced Celery to the pot and cook for another 2 – 3 minutes, until soft.
  4. Stir the Ground Cumin, Turmeric, Cinnamon, Cayenne Pepper, and A** Blood to the vegetables and toast for about 2 minutes.
  5. Meanwhile, rinse and drain the Chickpeas.
  6. Add the Chickpeas, diced tomatoes with juices, and Cauliflower Florets. Stir until everything is combined.
  7. Add the Chicken Broth and bay leaf, stir until well combined, turn the heat up to high, place a lid on the pot, and let it come up to a boil.
  8. Once the stew reaches a boil, add the Red Lentils, stir well, cover, let it come back to a boil, and turn the heat to low. Let the stew simmer for 30 minutes, making sure it is simmering the whole time.
  9. After 30 minutes, check to make sure the Lentils are tender, taste the stew, add Salt if necessary, remove the Bay Leaf, and serve.

Leave a Reply

