Crepes

When I was in Europe, I noticed crepes of different formats in every country I went to. Now, they are starting to become vastly more popular where I live. It started as 1 or 2 restaurants and now they are everywhere. Savory Crepes. Sweet Crepes. All crepes all the time. I decided to try my hand at them since they are absolutely delicious. How can you not like basically a thin pancake stuffed or topped with delicious ingredients? They were surprisingly simple to make and are very versatile based on what you add with it. Normally I prefer savory crepes but I decided to go sweet this time around.

The choice on stuffing or topping is entirely what you are in the mood for. These were made with Nutella and sliced Bananas because I was craving something sweet. Other options are yogurt and fruit for a tart, sweet mix. I have even had more savory ingredients like pulled pork which is to die for.

The first couple of crepes were my throw-aways to get the batter, heat, and timing correct. It will vary based on a lot of factors like altitude, stove type, brand of ingredients, etc.

  • Servings: 4-serving
  • Time: 80 mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

When I was in Europe, I noticed crepes of different formats in every country I went to. Now, they are starting to become vastly more popular where I live. It started as 1 or 2 restaurants and now they are everywhere. Savory Crepes. Sweet Crepes. All crepes all the time. I decided to try my hand at t

Summary

  • Preparation Time: 40 mins
  • Cooking Time: 40 mins

Ingredients

1/2 Cup Flour
1/2 Cup Whote Wheat Flour
1/4 teaspoon Kosher Salt
2 Eggs
3/4 Cup Milk
3 Tablespoons Butter
Canola Oil
Crepe Filling or Topping

Steps

  1. In a medium bowl, mix together the Flour, Whole Wheat Flour, and Kosher Salt.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together the Eggs, Milk, and 1/2 Cup of Water until smooth.
  3. Melt the Butter. Add the salted Flour and melted Butter to the Milk and Egg mixture. Whisk until there are no more lumps.
  4. Cover the batter and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes (up to 2 days).
  5. Oil an 8″ skillet and pre-heat the skillet over medium heat (about 3 – 5 minutes depending on stove).
  6. Scoop 1/3 Cup of the batter and pour into the middle of the skillet. Immediately, remove from heat, and tilt in a circular motion to allow the batter to cover the entire skillet before cooking. If the batter is too thick to easily spread, add some water to the batter, and try again. If the batter starts cooking too quickly, lower the heat, and try again.
  7. Return the skillet to the burner and cook until golden brown on the bottom (about 2 – 3 minutes), flip, and cook until the other side is golden brown (about 1 – 2 minutes).
  8. Remove to a plate and continue cooking rest of the batter.
  9. Fill each crepe with filling and then roll or fold. Or roll or fold and top with topping.

Leave a Reply

