Breakfast Pizza

I asked my girlfriend what she wanted me to make for breakfast and she told me she was craving Pizza. Now, I don’t think she was answering my question but I went with it anyway and I am glad I did. This was a perfect morning dish but it could be just that I want pizza all the damn time. The egg was the only ingredient that I was worried about but it definitely went well with the whole dish.

  • Servings: 3-serving
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

I asked my girlfriend what she wanted me to make for breakfast and she told me she was craving Pizza. Now, I don't think she was answering my question but I went with it anyway and I am glad I did. This was a perfect morning dish but it could be just that I want pizza all the damn time. The egg was

Summary

  • Course: breakfast
  • Preparation Time: 25 mins
  • Cooking Time: 40 mins

Ingredients

Dough
1/4 teaspoon Sugar
1 teaspoon Active Dry Yeast
1 Cup Flour (plus a little more)
3/4 teaspoon Salt
Pizza Sauce
1 Tablespoon Butter
1 Tablespoon Flour
1 Cup Milk
1/8 teaspoon Garlic Powder
1/4 teaspoon Salt
Pizza
3 Strips Bacon
1/4 lb Frozen Spinach
1 Roma Tomato
1 Cup Mozzarella Cheese , shredded
4 Eggs
to taste Freshly Ground Pepper
Olive Oil Spray
Cornmeal

Steps

  1. Start by making the Dough.
  2. Combine the Sugar and Active Dry Yeast with about 3/8th Cup of Warm Water. Stir to dissolve the Sugar and Active Dry Yeast. Let it sit until it starts to foam (about 5 – 7 minutes).
  3. Meanwhile, combine 1 Cup of Flour and the Salt. Stir to combine.
  4. When the Yeast is foamy, pour it into the Salted Flour and stir with a wooden spoon until completely mixed. Use your hands to form the dough into a ball. Using your hands, knead on a lightly floured surface for 3 minutes, adding flour to keep Dough from sticking. Set the Dough aside.
  5. Adjust the oven rack to the highest rack and preheat the oven to 500 degrees.
  6. Start making the bacon by either frying or baking it. I usually bake it in a smaller counter top oven. Chop into smaller pieces.
  7. Make the Pizza Sauce.
  8. Combine the Butter and Flour in a small pot and heat over medium-low heat while whisking until simmering.
  9. Continue to simmer and whisk for about 1 minute.
  10. Whisk the Milk into the Butter and Flour mixture. Allow it to come up to a simmer, whisking frequently.
  11. When the Milk reaches a simmer, turn off the heat, and whisk in the Salt and Garlic Powder. Set aside.
  12. Thaw the Frozen Spinach and squeeze out any liquid. Chop the Tomato.
  13. Flatten the Dough into a circular disk and then use a rolling pin to flatten to fit on a 12 inch pizza pan or skillet. I used a cast iron skillet.
  14. Prepare the pizza pan or skillet with some Olive Oil Spray and Cornmeal. Stretch the Dough on to the pan.
  15. Pour the Pizza Sauce over the Dough and cook for 5 minutes.
  16. Remove the pan from the oven, sprinkle the thawed Spinach over the surface of the pizza, followed by the chopped Tomato, chopped Bacon, and 1/2 Cup of the Mozzarella Cheese.
  17. Crack the Eggs on to the pizza, evenly spaced, add some Freshly Ground Pepper, and top with the remaining 1/2 Cup of Mozzarella Cheese.
  18. Bake until the cheese and crust are golden brown (about 10 – 12 minutes). Remove from the oven and cool for 5 minutes to allow the eggs to finish cooking.

Leave a Reply

