Kangaroo & Pork Chili Frito Pie

This dish was created for the subreddit, /r/52weeksofcooking, where the theme was “junk food”. I was really unsure what to make for this I try not to eat junk food all that often. Plus, I wanted to make something that after eating it, did not make me feel like I was killing myself. While Chili probably is not the healthiest food, it has been raining pretty hard at my house and flooding so I wanted to sit and eat some comfort movie and watch shitty b movies.

I have made chili a number of times but I try to change it up every time. This time, I think that I should have used more spicy ingredients. I was definitely satisfied and the fritos gave it a good crunch.

I typically make my own black beans but canned can be used as well

  • Servings: 8-serving
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Summary

  • Cuisine: american
  • Course: entrée
  • Preparation Time: 15 mins
  • Cooking Time: 75 mins

Ingredients

4 Cloves Garlic
2 Jalapeno Peppers
2 Serrano Peppers
1 Habanero Pepper
1 lb Ground Kangaroo
1 lb Ground Pork
1 can Tomato Sauce (14 oz)
1 can (14 oz) can Diced Tomatoes
1 can Green Chiles (4 oz)
1/2 teaspoon Kosher Salt
1 teaspoon Ground Oregano
1 Tablespoon Ground Cumin
2 Tablespoons Chili Powder
1 can Kidney Beans (14 oz)
2 Cups Black Beans
1/4 Cup Corn Meal
to taste Cheddar Cheese
to taste Red onion
to taste Fritos

Steps

  1. Heat a cast iron dutch oven over medium-high heat.
  2. While the dutch oven is heating up, mince the Garlic, chop the Jalapeno Peppers, Serrano Peppers, and Habanero Pepper, and place in a cast iron dutch oven.
  3. Add the Ground Kanagroo and Ground Pork to the Garlic and Peppers. Cook until all meat is browned, stirring and chopping up the meat as it cooks (about 5 – 10 minutes).
  4. When the meat is browned, add the Tomato Sauce, Diced Tomatoes, Green Chiles, Kosher Salt, Oregano, Cumin, and Chili Powder. Cover and reduce heat to low and simmer for 30 minutes, making sure it simmers the whole time.
  5. Meanwhile, drain and rinse the Kidney and Black Beans. Add the Beans to the dutch oven, cover, and continue simmering another 20 minutes.
  6. Meanwhile, mix the Corn Meal with 1/2 Cup Warm water in a small bowl. Add to the chili and cook an additional 15 minutes, uncovered.
  7. Chop the Red Onion and grate the Cheddar Cheese.
  8. Serve by topping the Cheddar Cheese on the Fritos, adding Chili, adding more Cheddar Cheese, and then finishing off with the chopped Red Onion.

Leave a Reply

