Slow Cooker Corned Beef & Cabbage

After attempting to make my own corned beef to make myself a reuben, I had quite a bit of corned beef left over and I could think of nothing better than some corned beef & cabbage. The fact that it was one of the colder days in the past month might have affected my decision as well. Plus, I do not care who you are or where you came from, everyone loves a warm, hearty meal when it is a bit cold out. If you do not, you are a liar. 

The home made corned beef really made a difference and the meat just melted in my mouth.

I mentioned corned beef with a spice packet in this recipe but I actually used home made corned beef and used the simmering spices for the salt packet. Definitely worth doing at least once.

Since I had so much corned beef, I actually doubled this recipe but it used 2 slow cookers in order to accomplish that.

  • Servings: 8-serving
  • Time: 510 mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

After attempting to make my own corned beef to make myself a reuben, I had quite a bit of corned beef left over and I could think of nothing better than some corned beef & cabbage. The fact that it was one of the colder days in the past month might have affected my decision as well. Plus, I do not c

Summary

  • Cuisine: irish
  • Course: entrée
  • Cooking Time: 510 mins

Ingredients

4 Large Carrots
10 Red Potatoes
1 Onion
4 lb Corned Beef Brisket with Spices
6 Ounces Beer
1/2 Head Cabbage

Steps

  1. Peel and slice the Carrots, clean and quarter the Potatoes, and slice the Onion.
  2. Place the Carrots, Potatoes, and Onion into the bottom of the slow cooker. Pour in about 4 cups of water and place the Corned Beef on top of the vegetables.
  3. Pour the Beer over the Corned Beef and sprinkle the Spices on the Corned Beef.
  4. Cover and cook on high for about 8 hours.
  5. Core and Chop the Cabbage.
  6. Stir in the chopped Cabbage. Cook for 1 more hour.

Leave a Reply

