Chicken Parmigiana

This was one part of a meal cooked for the subreddit, /r/52weeksofcooking. where the theme was “heritage”. Instead of picking just one part of my heritage to go with, I decided to go with all of it… even the smaller parts. For the Italian part, I decided to make Chicken Parmigiana. This part of my heritage was hard because I love Italian food and I was looking for something that I have never made before. I think the reason that I have never made this is that I am not the hugest fan of chicken. But cover it in homemade sauce and cheese and I am there.

For the sauce, I used a version of my Marinara Sauce that I made with Italian Sausage and Kangaroo. You could use store bought or make your own.

Also, after making this and reading a bit more recipes, this would probably be better if the chicken breast was thinner or pounded thin.

Next time I would probably reduce the amount of Flour, Bread Crumbs, and Egg since I had a lot left over.

  • Servings: 4-serving
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Summary

  • Cuisine: italian
  • Course: entrée
  • Cooking Time: 40 mins

Ingredients

4 Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breasts
to taste Kosher Salt
to taste Fresh Ground Black Pepper
2 Cups Flour
4 Eggs
2 Cups Panko Bread Crumbs
1 Cup Olive Oil
1 lb Mozzarella Cheese , sliced
1/4 Cup Grated Parmesan Cheese
Parsley   for   garnish (not pictured)

Steps

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Season each Chicken Breast on both sides with Salt and Pepper. Then dredge in the Flour, tap off the excess, dip in the egg, let the excess drip off, and then dredge in the Bread Crumbs. Set aside.
  3. Heat Olive Oil until just before smoking over high heat. Add 2 Chicken Breasts to the pan and cook until golden brown (about 1 – 2 minutes per side). Transfer to a baking sheet and cook the other 2 Chicken Breasts. Transfer the last 2 Chicken Breasts to the baking sheet.
  4. Top each Chicken Breast with Marinara Sauce, some slices of Mozzarella Cheese, Salt, Pepper, and about a tablespoon of Parmesan Cheese.
  5. Bake in the oven until the chicken is cooked through (about 10 – 20 minutes, the thinner the less time it will take).

Leave a Reply

