‘Roo Black Bean Chili

I came home from work and wanted to be able to make something that was fast, easy, and I had all or almost all of the ingredients. This was a welcomed meal because I had to buy very little and it came out really well. As always, next time I will change it up a bit or cook it differently if I had more time. If you do not have nor want to buy Kanagroo, any meat should be fine in this.

This recipe also calls for canned black beans and I usually make my own beans and freeze or can them so they have a bit less salt but adjust to your taste.

You can top this chili with pretty much everything but my favourite is some cheese and home made guacamole.

A** Blood is a homemade chili powder made with ghost chilis (http://www.cucumbertown.com/a-blood-recipe-dish)

  • Servings: 6-serving
  • Time: 45 mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

I came home from work and wanted to be able to make something that was fast, easy, and I had all or almost all of the ingredients. This was a welcomed meal because I had to buy very little and it came out really well. As always, next time I will change it up a bit or cook it differently if I had mor

Summary

  • Course: entrée
  • Cooking Time: 45 mins

Ingredients

1 Tablespoon Olive Oil
1 Yellow Onion
6 Cloves Garlic
1 lb Ground Kangaroo
3 15 oz Cans Black Beans
1 15 oz Diced Tomatoes Cans
1 4 oz Diced Green Chiles Cans
3 oz Tomato Paste (about 1/4 cup)
1 Tablespoon Chili Powder
1/2 teaspoon Cumin
1/2 teaspoon Smoked Paprika
1/2 teaspoon Oregano
1/2 teaspoon A** Blood
to taste Salt,

Steps

  1. Dice the onion and mince the garlic.
  2. Heat Olive Oil over medium heat in a large pot or dutch oven and add the onion and Garlic. Cook until softened (2 – 4 minutes).
  3. Add the Kangaroo and cook until cooked through (mine was a little bit frozen in parts so this took some time). Break up the ground meat as it cooks.
  4. Add the Black Beans (undrained), the Diced Tomatoes (undrained), Tomato Paste, Chili Powder, Cumin, Smoked Paprika, Oregano, and A** Blood. Stir to combine.
  5. Let the chili simmer for about 10 minutes to let the liquid thicken.
  6. Taste the chili and add salt as needed (I needed a little bit less than 1/2 of a teaspoon). Serve with you favourite chili toppings.

Leave a Reply

