Panang Curry with Beef

This dish is was prepared for the subreddit, /r/52weeksofcooking, where the theme was “spicy food”. I am just going to start out this post by saying that when my friends and I saw this theme, we laughed. Almost all of our food is spicy… case in point: https://boredoftheinternet.wordpress.com/2014/10/10/a-blood-recipe/. Also, this dish is probably my favourite Thai dish. I remember my mom ordering this at my first Thai restaurant when I was about 8 and feel in love then and never stopped. Because of this, I have never tried making it because I thought it was overly complicated and I was very wrong. That being said, this dish had a decent amount heat but it could have used more. The only reason I did not make it hotter is out of respect for a friend who was over when I made this that can not take heat like a few of us. Given that, the left overs, I cheated and added a thing of chili paste that I got from a Thai restaurant that I went to a week prior.

  • Servings: 6-serving
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Summary

  • Cuisine: thai
  • Course: entrée
  • Cooking Time: 30 mins

Ingredients

1 lb Flank Steak , thinly sliced
Can 1 Unsweeted Coconut Milk , full fat 13.5 oz
2 Tablespoons Panang Curry Paste
2 Tablespoons Crunch Peanut Butter
5 teaspoons Fish Sauce
4 teaspoons Dark Brown Sugar
1 Red Bell Pepper , very thinly sliced lengthwise
1 White Onion , thinly sliced
5 Thai Chilis , chopped with seeds
1/2 Cup Frozen Peas
1/2 Cup Frozen Green Beans
Packed 1 Loosely Basil Leaves , torn Cup
1 1/2 Tablespoons Fresh Lime Juice (about 1 – 2 limes)

Steps

  1. Heat a large skillet over medium heat. Spoon the thick coconut cream from the top of the can into the skillet (mine did not have cream so I just used a few tablespoons of the milk).
  2. Add the curry paste and cook, stirring frequently, until fragrant and beginning to dry (about 3 minutes).
  3. Stir in the remaining coconut milk, peanute butter, fish sauce, brown sugar, and 1/4 cup of water.
  4. Bring to a simmer. Stir in the red pepper and onion, cover, and cook until they are crisp-tender (about 3 minutes).
  5. Add the sliced beef, peas, beans, and basil; cook, uncovered, stirring occasionally, until the beef no longer looks raw, (3 – 5 minutes).
  6. Stir in the lime juice and serve over rice. Add chili paste or other additions.

Next time I will definitely being using fresh green beans. I would have this time but my store was out for some reason. Also, I will keep the peanut butter but also include some chopped peanuts for crunch.

Leave a Reply

