Chicken Pumpkin Penne

I am actually surprised that this turned out well because of how many mistakes that I made. Do not worry though, I have corrected them for this post. Like not forgetting to add salt and including hot sauce. Also, any type of pasta should work but I used what I had on hand.
A** Blood is a home made chili powder I make.

  • Servings: 5-serving
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

I am actually surprised that this turned out well because of how many mistakes that I made. Do not worry though, I have corrected them for this post. Like not forgetting to add salt and including hot sauce. Also, any type of pasta should work but I used what I had on hand. A** Blood is a home made c

Summary

  • Course: entrée
  • Cooking Time: 20 mins

Ingredients

1 lb Penne
6 Cloves Garlic
2 Tablespoons Butter
1 14.5 oz Pumpkin Puree (about 2 cups) cans
2 Cups Chicken Broth
1/4 teaspoon Nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon Chili Powder
1/4 teaspoon Cayenne Pepper
1/4 teaspoon A** Blood
Fresh Ground Pepper (About 10 cranks)
2 Cups Shredded Chicken , cooked
4 Tablespoons Heavy Cream
to taste Salt
to taste Hot   Pepper   Sauce
to taste Feta Cheese
to taste Parmesan Cheese

Steps

  1. Begin boiling water in a large pot. When the water is boiling, add the pasta, and cook per the package directions (7 – 11 minutes).
  2. Meanwhile, start to prepare the sauce. Mince the garlic and add to a medium pot with the butter. Cook over medium-low heat until the garlic is soft and fragrant (about 2 minutes).
  3. Add the pumpkin puree and chicken broth. Stir to combine.
  4. Add the nutmeg, chili powder, cayenne pepper, A** Blood, pepper, and chicken. Stir everything and let the sauce simmer while the pasta cooks. Stir occasionally. Turn down the heat if it starts to boil or pop.
  5. Once the pasta is done cook, drain the a colander.
  6. As the pasta is draining, add the heavy cream to the sauce and stir into the sauce.
  7. Taste the sauce and add salt if needed. This will depend on the type of chicken broth used. I used my homemade chicken broth which is not very salt and had to add about 1/2 a teaspoon.
  8. Stir in the drained pasta into the sauce.
  9. Serve hot topped with hot pepper sauce and cheeses.

I tried with a couple different hot sauces and felt that a more vinegary hot sauce worked the best.

Leave a Reply

