Rice and Chicken Mole Tacos

This dish was created for the subreddit, /r/52weeksofcooking, where the theme was chocolate. I have always felt that mole is either hit or miss and I have never been the hugest fan but I have never made it before. While I found this really good, it is still not my favourite. Side note: I made this last night and had it for left overs and the heat definitely got stronger.
A** Blood is a home made chili powder I make

  • Servings: 6-serving
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

This dish was created for the subreddit, /r/52weeksofcooking, where the theme was chocolate. I have always felt that mole is either hit or miss and I have never been the hugest fan but I have never made it before. While I found this really good, it is still not my favourite. Side note: I made this l

Summary

  • Cuisine: mexican
  • Course: entrée
  • Cooking Time: 310 mins

Ingredients

Chicken Mole
1 Onion
1/2 Cup Raisins
4 Cloves Garlic
2 Tablespoons Sesame Seeds
2 Canned Chipotle Chiles in Adobo Sauce
3 Tablespoons Peanut Butter
1 28 oz Crushed Tomatoes Cans
1 teaspoon Sugar
1 teaspoon Ground Cinnamon
4 teaspoons Chili Powder
1/2 teaspoon A** Blood
1 teaspoon Cumin
1/2 teaspoon Ground Coriander
1/8 teaspoon Ground Nutmeg
3 Tablespoons Unsweetended Cocoa Powder
4 Cups Cooked Shredded Chicken
Spanish Rice
2 Tablespoons Canola Oil
2 1/2 Tablespoons Chopped Onion
1 1/2 Cups Uncooked Rice
2 Cups Chicken Broth
1 Cup Chunky Salsa

Steps

  1. Chop onion, garlic, and chipotle peppers.
  2. Place onion, raisins, garlic, sesame seeds, chipotle peppers, peanutr butter, and crushed tomatoes in slow cooker.
  3. Stir in sugar, cinnamon, chili powder, A** Blood, cumin, coriander, nutmeg, cocoa powder, and chicken.
  4. Cover and cook on low for 5 hours.
  5. Meanwhile, make the rice.
  6. Heat oil in a large pot. While oil is heating up, chop the onion.
  7. Stir in the onion in the oil and cook until tender (3 – 5 minutes).
  8. Mix rice into pot, stirring often, until rice begins to brown (8 – 10 minutes).
  9. Stir in chicken broth and salsa.
  10. Reduce heat to low, cover, and simmer for about 15 minutes or until liquid is absorbed.
  11. Serve rice and chicken mole in heated tortillas or taco shells

This came out pretty hot so if you cannot handle heat, reduce the chipotle peppers to 1 pepper and omit a hot powder but leave in the chili powder.

I used jasmine rice because it is what I had but any white rice should work.

Also, I used shredded cooked chicken because it is what I had. You could use raw chicken, just remember to shred it after cooking before serving

Leave a Reply

