Cheesy Chicken Skillet

I am not even sure what to call this. It has pasta which is usually Italian, BBQ sauce which is all over but I still think American, tomatoes mixed with green chilies screams Mexican, and Monterey Jack cheese which is delicious. Screw it, I call it damn good :).

  • Servings: 4-serving
  • Time: 30 mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

I am not even sure what to call this. It has pasta which is usually Italian, BBQ sauce which is all over but I still think American, tomatoes mixed with green chilies screams Mexican, and Monterey Jack cheese which is delicious. Screw it, I call it damn good :).

Summary

  • Course: main course
  • Cooking Time: 30 mins

Ingredients

2 Cups Pre-cooked Chicken, shredded
1 15 oz Diced Tomatoes Cans
1 4 oz Diced Green Chilies , drained Cans
1/2 lb Pasta
1 1/2 Cups Chicken Broth
1/3 Cup Barbeque Sauce
1  – 2   Cups Shredded Cheese
3 Slices Bacon
2 Green Onions , sliced

Steps

  1. Place the chicken, pasta, tomatoes, green chilies, and chicken broth in a large skillet. Stir to combine. Cover and turn the heat to high. Once it comes to a boil, reduce the heat and let it simmer for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  2. Meanwhile, cook the bacon. I usually bake my bacon due to how easy it is: Place the bacon on a foil wrapped baking sheet and place in a non-preheated oven.
  3. Turn the oven to 400 degrees and cook the bacon for 15 minutes or until you get your desired crispiness.
  4. Drain the cooked bacon on a couple paper towels and cut or crumble into pieces.
  5. After letting the chicken, pasta mixture simmer for 15 minutes, the pasta should be tender and most of the liquid absorbed. If the pasta is still firm, let it simmer an additional 5 minutes. If the pasta is tender but there is still a lot of liquid, let it simmer an additional 5 minutes with the cover removed.
  6. Once the pasta is cooked and most of the liquid is absorbed, drizzle the BBQ sauce over the top.
  7. Sprinkle the cheese over the top, cover, and cook an additional 5 minutes or until the cheese is melted.
  8. Top with bacon and green onions.

-I like my bacon a little on the soft side so if you like it crispier, cook it for longer.

-If you prefer to cook the bacon in a skillet rather than baking it, there is no problem with that.

-You can use pretty much any kind of cheese. I used Cheddar Jack because it is what I had but Monterey Jack would be good in this too.

-The type of pasta is pretty versatile too. I used penne because it is what I had but Fusili and Conchiglie would be good with this too.

-The next time I make this, I might substitute Hoisin sauce for the BBQ sauce.

Leave a Reply

