Shrimp Quinoa

This dish was prepared for the subreddit, /r/52weeksofcooking where the theme was whole grain. I just have to say, any excuse I have to make quinoa, I will take it. My friend introduced me to it a few years ago and I have been hooked ever since. Throw shrimp in the mix and I am in heaven. This did not disappoint.

  • Servings: 6-serving
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

This dish was prepared for the subreddit, /r/52weeksofcooking where the theme was whole grain. I just have to say, any excuse I have to make quinoa, I will take it. My friend introduced me to it a few years ago and I have been hooked ever since. Throw shrimp in the mix and I am in heaven. This did n

Summary

  • Course: side dish
  • Cooking Time: 25 mins

Ingredients

1 Cup Quinoa , uncooked   and rinsed  
1 1/2 Cups Chicken Broth
2 1/2 Tablespoons Olive Oil
Clove , 3 Garlic minced
1 Onion , diced
1 Red Bell Pepper , diced
8 Spears Fresh Asparagus
1 1/2 Cups Fresh Mushrooms , sliced
1/3 Cup Raisins
1 1/2 Inches Fresh Ginger , grated
1/2 lb Uncooked Shrimp , peeled
1 Tablespoon Lemon Juice
to taste Salt and Pepper

Steps

  1. Bring the quinoa and chicken broth to a boil in a large pot over high heat. Reduce the heat to medium-low, cover, and simmer until liquid is almost absorbed (about 10 minutes). Turn off the heat and let the quinoa absorb the rest of the liquid.
  2. Meanwhile, heat 2 tablespoons of the olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Stir in the garlic, onion, and red bell pepper. Cook and stir until the onion has softened and turning translucent (about 4 minutes).
  3. Add the asparagus, mushrooms, raisins, and ginger. Cook until the asparagus is tender (about 5 minutes).
  4. Add the lemon juice and vegetable mixture to the quinoa and toss to mix.
  5. Add the remaining half of the olive to skillet used to cook the vegetables and add the shrimp, cooking until pink (about 3 minutes).
  6. Add the shrimp to the quinoa, vegetable mixture and toss again.
  7. Season with salt a pepper.

The amount of salt depends on your chicken broth and your taste. I used home made chicken broth and used about 1/2 a teaspoon and 5 cranks of a pepper mill.

2 thoughts on “Shrimp Quinoa”

Leave a Reply

