Marinara Sauce

I used to only buy the pre-made marinara sauce in bottles or cans at the store and I never knew why it tasted so much better at the restaurant. Then I started making my own and I’ll never go back. It’s so easy and so delicious

  • Servings: 4-serving
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

I used to only buy the pre-made marinara sauce in bottles or cans at the store and I never knew why it tasted so much better at the restaurant. Then I started making my own and I'll never go back. It's so easy and so delicious

Summary

  • Cuisine: italian
  • Cooking Time: 510 mins

Ingredients

1/2 lb Italian Sausage , casing removed
1 Yellow Onion
1 Tablespoon Garlic , minced
1 Bell Pepper
3 oz Mushrooms
2 28 oz Crushed Tomatoes Cans
1 6 oz Tomato Paste Cans
1 Tablespoon Brown Sugar
1 Tablespoon Balsamic Vinegar
2 Bay Leaves
1 Tablespoon Dried Basil
1/2 Tablespoon Oregano
to taste Salt & Pepper

Steps

  1. Remove the sausage from the casing, brown over medium heat, and add to slow cooker.
  2. Dice the onion, mince the garlic, and chop the mushrooms and add to slow cooker.
  3. Add the crushed tomatoes, tomato paste, brown sugar, balsamic vinegar, bay leaves, basil, oregano, and black pepper (I used about 10 grinds of a pepper mill). Stir well.
  4. Cook on low for 8 hours.
  5. Remove the bay leaves and season with salt (I used about 3/4 tsp of salt).

4 thoughts on “Marinara Sauce”

  1. This is the base to a couple different sauces but I have used it on pizza many times. I would only leave it in the refrigerator for a couple weeks though. It freezes and cans really well

    Like

  2. Ok… I worked with a woman from Rome,; my mentor. can’t ever say enough good about her… taught me a generations old version of this sauce.. I’d be happy to share. Much more simple and always works in a heartbeat.. BTW… you have good taste in food… yer African peanut-butter stew made me weepy.

    Like

  3. I do very much so! I love learning new ways of making dishes. Simpler is nice too. The Peanut stew was so good, I cannot praise it enough

    Like

Leave a Reply

